Help needed for a novice to connect NetDrive3 to NAS via WebDAV

Hi everyone,

Firstly, full disclosure, I am a novice in this world so please bear with me!!

I am having major issues in trying to connect my Synology NAS DS218J to NetDrive3 by utilising WebDAV. My NAS is in my office and I am trying to set up a virtual network to allow employees to access the NAS shared drive from remote locations. We have been using Quickconnect fine, but the lack of ability to edit files on the go and the hassle of constantly logging in, downloading and then uploading is not an efficient use of time. Therefore, I want to achieve a folder within windows explorer that basically provides a constant link to the NAS when working away from the office (I have set up a network folder whilst in the office already so access on site is not an issue).

Following the instruction provided by Synology https://www.synology.com/en-global/knowledgebase/DSM/tutorial/File_Sharing/How_to_access_files_on_Synology_NAS_with_WebDAV I have been able to have limited success. I seem to be able to access the folder by connecting via NetDrive3 when I am in the office and this then works on other networks if I do not disconnect. However, as soon as the next day I try to connect to the server in NetDrive3 (when working from my home) I receive the error “Connection Failed - Please check the connection information”.

As far as I can see the following key settings are in place:

DiskStation WebDav Server - Enable HTTP - HTTP Port: 5050

DiskStation WebDav Server - Enable HTTPS - HTTPS Port: 5051

DiskStation Control Panel - Router Configuration - WebDav Server - Local Port: 5050: - Router Port: 5050

DiskStation Control Panel - Router Configuration - WebDav Server - Local Port 5051: - Router Port: 5051

DiskStation Control Panel - DSM Settings - DSM Ports - HTTP: 5000

DiskStation Control Panel - DSM Settings - DSM Ports - HTTPS: 5001